top of page
Writer's pictureworld language

'For Raiy'

A memory of you holds me when I can’t sleep.

Don't confuse this memory, as one of our recent days.

I remember how tiny our hands were, when we would pitch tents in the garden.


That memory of you holds me; the one where you and I had nothing to run from,

We still had so much to chase.


You hold me dear, when I cannot bring myself to like who I am.

I’ve told you, ever since we were children, that with you,

Every little impossible thing seems easy.


Like talking about your day, or how a light in your heart went out with an unfortunate incident.

My heart is broken, with no good tape.


But you taught me that I do not need to be plastered with anything as long as I am me,

And with that thought I rose from my bed, half empty, yet half whole.

And I realise the way that I can never choose one.

I don’t need to, do I?

I was once more than enough.


- Neha Thapar

F.Y.B.A.

Instagram Page: @poetryising




56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page