top of page
Writer's pictureworld language

New Memories

The subtle waves in the ocean, crash against my feet.

Leaving a lingering feeling on the tip of my toes.

Just like she did to my heart.

Every time, she crashed against it.


The sand underneath my hand grazing the skin of my palm, tickles.

Just like her hands did, whenever, they met mine.

The ocean breeze gushing around ears, touching my face ever so gently.

Just like her hair did, every time the wind danced through them.


Sitting under the umbrage of a dwarf palmetto, the backdrop of the ethereal beach filled my heart with an unknown rhapsody.

Just like she did, every time I saw her smile, every time she laughed.

But, not anymore.

She looked so ethereal in that white wedding gown today, holding hands with him, looking into each other’s eyes. Her hazel orbs sparkling with love for him, 'true love'.


She is happy now. She loves him, not you.

Coward!

The only thought that clouded my mind, in that very moment.

This gloomy feeling doesn’t go away.

My heart, being stubborn as it is, keeps holding on to her.

As if she would run back in my embrace!


I opened my eyes, inhaling fresh air. The sun is about to set, sky turning a shade of tangerine and amber.

As the yellow ball of fire goes down, I wish, my feelings for her would bury deep somewhere in my heart, agnate all the memories.


- Jiya Gahlot

F.Y.B.A




23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page