top of page
Writer's pictureworld language

Pieces of Me

"Why is it that so much of our self identity is determined by the perception of others?" For a very long time, I have struggled with my identity or my true self. Trying to find myself or maybe just the best version of my self, the version I thought would be accepted by everyone. It has been a constant struggle between who I really am and who I thought everyone wanted me to be. I have finally understood what self identity or being true to yourself is, albeit rather slowly. Self Identity to me is the version of ourselves we would otherwise never reveal or divulge to others. It is the part of ourselves we keep hidden and in secret from fear of not being accepted or liked. The broken, jagged, hard edged parts of ourselves we are constantly trying to smoothen and correct. That authentic self of ours, that we are constantly trying to redeem or change is who we really are. Even though more often than not, it maybe the worst part of ours but it is what it is.


Alisha Desai

FYBA



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page